Skip to main content

Article

Shockwave Therapy for Trigger Finger: What Does the Evidence Show?

Published

Shockwave therapy applied to the A1 pulley region for trigger finger

Trigger finger has one of the clearer direct shockwave evidence bases among hand tendon-sheath disorders. Randomized trials have compared ESWT with corticosteroid injection, sham treatment, laser therapy and exercise-based care.

The evidence supports meaningful improvement in pain and hand function in selected patients, but it does not show that shockwave is universally superior to injection or other conservative treatment. Severity also matters: fixed locking, advanced contracture or persistent refractory triggering may require procedural or surgical evaluation.

Double-blind sham-controlled trial

Patients

60, Quinnell grade II

randomized to higher-dose wide-focused ESWT, lower-dose wide-focused ESWT or sham

Treatment

1,500 impulses

weekly for 4 weeks; 0.01 mJ/mm² at 5.8 bar in the higher-dose group

At 6 months

Lower pain and QuickDASH

in the higher-dose group than sham; no adverse effects in either active group

PMID 34029555. Protocol-specific findings. Do not assume every ESWT dose produces the same result.

Start with the diagnosis and the severity

Shockwave evidence for trigger finger only applies to trigger finger. A finger that hurts during gripping but glides smoothly may have flexor tendon pain, a joint problem or another diagnosis, and a finger that slowly loses straightening may have Dupuytren disease. Those distinctions are covered in trigger finger vs flexor tendon pain and trigger finger vs Dupuytren contracture.

Severity matters just as much. Clinicians commonly grade trigger finger with the Quinnell classification or a modified version, from pain or uneven movement, through catching, to locking and finally a finger that cannot move normally. The randomized shockwave trials mostly enrolled patients with catching that could still be corrected, so their results apply most directly to mild-to-moderate disease, not to a finger that is fixed or repeatedly locked.

The double-blind sham-controlled trial

The strongest single study is a 2021 double-blind randomized trial from a university hospital (Chen, 2021). Sixty patients with Quinnell grade II trigger finger were evenly allocated to three groups of 20:

  • Higher-dose ESWT: an energy flux density of 0.01 mJ/mm² at 5.8 bar
  • Lower-dose ESWT: 0.006 mJ/mm² at 3 bar
  • Sham treatment

The authors describe the device as wide-focused ESWT. Every group received 1,500 impulses once a week for four weeks, patients were followed for six months, and only painkillers were allowed as additional treatment.

A double-blind sham-controlled randomized trial of 60 patients with Quinnell grade II trigger finger found a dose-related treatment signal. Patients receiving the higher-energy wide-focused ESWT protocol had greater improvement than sham, including significantly lower pain and QuickDASH disability at six months. No adverse effects were reported in either active group.

Three details keep this result in proportion. First, all three groups improved from baseline, including sham, which shows how much trigger finger can change with time and expectation alone. The benefit of shockwave is the difference above that, not the total improvement. Second, the authors' "high-energy" group used 0.01 mJ/mm², which is low by many conventions, so "higher" describes this trial's comparison rather than a universal dose category. Third, 20 patients per group is small.

ESWT vs corticosteroid injection

The earlier randomized study compared shockwave directly with the standard nonoperative treatment (Yildirim, 2016). Forty patients with trigger fingers that could still be actively corrected were randomized to ESWT, given as 1,000 impulses at 2.1 bar, or to a corticosteroid injection. Outcomes included cure rate, pain, the frequency, severity and functional impact of triggering, and QuickDASH, measured at one, three and six months and analyzed by intention to treat.

A randomized study of 40 patients found that both ESWT and corticosteroid injection improved pain, triggering severity and function, with no significant between-group difference in cure rate, pain or function during follow-up.

The trial supports ESWT as a possible noninvasive alternative in selected patients but does not establish superiority over corticosteroid injection.

The abstract we reviewed does not name the shockwave device type, the number of sessions, the energy flux density or frequency, the exact definition of cure or the steroid agent and dose, so we have not stated them here.

ESWT vs corticosteroid: randomized study

Patients

40

actively correctable trigger fingers, followed for six months

Both treatments

Improved

pain, triggering severity and function

Between groups

No significant difference

in cure rate, pain or function

PMID 26763271. Supports ESWT as a noninvasive alternative in selected patients; does not establish superiority over injection.

Newer randomized evidence: ESWT, laser and exercise

A 2026 three-arm randomized trial compared ESWT and high-intensity laser therapy (HILT), each added to a home-exercise program, with home exercise alone (Çetin Duru, 2026). The active treatments were given in nine sessions over three weeks, and everyone followed the same exercise program. The primary outcome was QuickDASH at week 12.

The analysis included 116 patients who completed the study: 39 in the ESWT group, 45 in the HILT group and 32 in the exercise group. The abstract reports completers rather than the number originally randomized, and it does not name the shockwave device type.

At week 12, mean QuickDASH scores were 42.6 after ESWT, 26.6 after HILT and 51.2 after exercise alone, a significant difference across groups. Effect sizes favored HILT over exercise and over ESWT. HILT also had the lowest pain scores at both follow-ups and better Quinnell grades. Grip strength was higher in both active-treatment groups than with exercise alone, while tip-pinch strength did not differ.

A 2026 three-arm randomized trial found that both ESWT and high-intensity laser therapy improved multiple trigger-finger outcomes compared with a home-exercise program. HILT showed better short-term pain and QuickDASH results in some comparisons, so the study does not support claiming that ESWT is universally superior. The authors concluded that ESWT remains a useful noninvasive adjunct to home exercise.

Newer randomized evidence (2026)

Analyzed

116 patients

ESWT vs HILT vs home exercise

Both active treatments

Stronger grip

than home exercise alone at weeks 3 and 12

HILT

Best 12-week scores

for pain and QuickDASH

PMID 42455339. Supports ESWT efficacy but does not show universal superiority.

Radial ESWT vs corticosteroid: a non-randomized comparison

A 2026 prospective study from Spain compared radial ESWT with corticosteroid injection in 42 patients with Quinnell grade II–III trigger finger (Suárez Cabañas, 2026). Patients were assigned by sequential sampling rather than randomization and were assessed at baseline, six weeks and six months.

Both groups improved significantly on every measure. Injection produced faster pain relief at six weeks, while radial ESWT showed more sustained benefit in pain, stiffness and function at six months, with a higher proportion of excellent or good results on the Roles and Maudsley scale. Grip strength increased similarly, and no major adverse events were reported.

A newer prospective comparison also reported improvement after radial ESWT and corticosteroid injection in moderate trigger finger. Because treatment allocation was non-randomized, this study provides supportive evidence but should carry less weight than the randomized trials.

What the pooled evidence adds

A 2026 meta-analysis pooled 12 randomized trials with 760 patients (Zhang, 2026). The pooled pain reduction favored shockwave, with a mean difference of −1.32 points (95% CI −1.85 to −0.79). QuickDASH did not differ significantly (mean difference −6.14, 95% CI −14.00 to 1.72; p = 0.13), and the Cooney score favored shockwave (mean difference 13.84, 95% CI 5.04 to 22.64) with very high heterogeneity.

Despite its title, the analysis mixed trigger finger with De Quervain tenosynovitis, seven of the twelve trials were published in Chinese, and the comparison treatments ranged from sham shockwave to local block injections, physical therapy and anti-inflammatory drugs. A 2026 meta-analysis of randomized ESWT studies in stenosing tenosynovial disorders found a pooled pain benefit, although functional outcomes were less consistent and the underlying diagnoses and protocols were heterogeneous.

It also included the 2016 steroid-comparison trial described above. The meta-analysis synthesizes overlapping primary trials and should not be treated as an independent second set of patients.

A separate 2026 network meta-analysis of 27 randomized trials across all trigger-digit treatments found surgical release most effective overall (Chiang, 2026). Among nonsurgical options, steroid injection, NSAID injection and ESWT each had significantly higher odds of success than placebo injection, with no significant difference among the three. The ESWT estimate had a wide confidence interval, so the size of that effect remains uncertain.

Radial, focused and wide-focused: which technology?

The trigger-finger literature uses more than one shockwave technology, which is one reason there is not a single universal protocol. Each study should be labeled by what its authors actually reported:

Shockwave studies in trigger finger: design and modality
StudyDesignnModality as reportedComparatorProtocolMain resultKey limitation
Chen et al., 2021Double-blind RCT60Wide-focusedLower-dose ESWT; sham1,500 impulses weekly × 4Higher dose: lower pain and QuickDASH than sham at 6 monthsSmall groups; sham also improved
Yildirim et al., 2016RCT40Unspecified (pressure in bar)Corticosteroid injection1,000 impulses at 2.1 barBoth improved; no significant differenceSmall; protocol details not in abstract
Çetin Duru et al., 2026Three-arm RCT116 analyzedUnspecified in abstractHILT; home exercise9 sessions over 3 weeks, plus exerciseHILT best for pain and QuickDASH; both active groups stronger gripCompleters only; 12-week follow-up
Suárez Cabañas et al., 2026Prospective, non-randomized42RadialCorticosteroid injectionNot stated in abstractInjection faster; radial ESWT better at 6 monthsNon-randomized allocation
Zhang et al., 2026Meta-analysis12 RCTs, 760VariedMixed controlsVariedLower pain; QuickDASH not significantMixed diagnoses; overlaps primary trials

None of these studies was labeled simply as focused shockwave, and none compared radial with focused or wide-focused treatment head to head. Results from the wide-focused sham-controlled trial should not be attributed to radial devices, and the radial study should not be read as evidence for every focused protocol. More on the general differences is in focused shockwave and radial shockwave.

How shockwave may work

Clinical studies demonstrate symptom and functional improvement; they do not show that shockwave mechanically divides the A1 pulley. The clinical effect is more plausibly related to biological and pain-modulatory tissue responses than to a literal mechanical release of the pulley. Proposed mechanisms include changes in pain signaling, local tissue remodeling and a vascular response in the tendon and sheath, but none of the trials measured these directly.

Shockwave does not cut the pulley, open it, widen it or remove the stenosis permanently. A1 pulley release is the treatment that directly divides the pulley.

Corticosteroid injection and surgery

Corticosteroid injection remains a standard nonoperative treatment. The clinical value of ESWT is that it offers a noninvasive alternative for selected patients, not that injection has been shown to be ineffective. A 2026 systematic review of 13 randomized trials noted that steroid injection is widely used for trigger finger, although there is limited consensus on the best agent, dose and technique; it found methylprednisolone more effective and better tolerated than triamcinolone (Kuper, 2026).

Surgical release remains a highly effective option for persistent or advanced trigger finger and should not be delayed indefinitely when mechanical locking is substantial. Percutaneous and open A1 pulley release both directly address the stenosis. A finger that is fixed, repeatedly locks, keeps returning after injection or conservative care, or is causing a major loss of hand function should be seen by a hand surgeon.

What about EMTT?

We did not find human clinical studies of electromagnetic transduction therapy (EMTT) for trigger finger. EMTT is a different technology from shockwave, and shockwave trial results do not transfer to it. We do not use EMTT as a trigger-finger treatment on the basis of current evidence.

When shockwave may be part of the plan

Shockwave is a reasonable option when:

  • The diagnosis is true trigger finger, with catching or locking at the A1 pulley
  • Triggering is mild to moderate and the finger can still be straightened
  • The patient wants a noninvasive option, or prefers to avoid or delay injection
  • Activity modification, tendon-gliding exercise or splinting alone have not been enough

It is combined with sensible load modification and hand movement rather than used on its own, and response is reassessed by checking triggering, pain and function. If the finger is not improving, or locking is getting worse, the plan changes toward injection referral or a hand-surgery opinion.

Shockwave is not appropriate for a suspected tendon rupture, an infected tendon sheath, a fixed contracture or a finger that is stuck and cannot be straightened.

The bottom line

Trigger finger has direct randomized and sham-controlled shockwave evidence. A double-blind trial found that a higher-energy wide-focused protocol produced lower pain and QuickDASH disability than sham at six months, and a randomized comparison with corticosteroid injection found similar improvement in both groups.

Shockwave is a legitimate, evidence-supported, noninvasive option for appropriately selected trigger finger. It does not mechanically cut the A1 pulley, and it does not replace injection or surgery when severity calls for them. The overall approach is described on our trigger finger and flexor tendon pain page, and our general shockwave therapy page explains how treatment is selected.

References

  • Chen YP, Lin CY, Kuo YJ, Lee OK. Extracorporeal shockwave therapy in the treatment of trigger finger: a randomized controlled study. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. 2021;102(11):2083-2090.e1. PMID 34029555. (link)
  • Yildirim P, Gultekin A, Yildirim A, Karahan AY, Tok F. Extracorporeal shock wave therapy versus corticosteroid injection in the treatment of trigger finger: a randomized controlled study. Journal of Hand Surgery (European Volume). 2016;41(9):977-983. PMID 26763271. (link)
  • Çetin Duru E, Karakaş D, Kazan S. Comparative effectiveness of extracorporeal shock wave therapy and high-intensity laser therapy in trigger finger: a randomized controlled trial. Rheumatology International. 2026;46(8). PMID 42455339. (link)
  • Suárez Cabañas AH, Ramírez Sánchez M, Álvarez Jiménez A, Santana Bañolas M, González Martín JM, García Castellano JM. Short- and mid-term efficacy of extracorporeal shock wave therapy versus corticosteroid injections in the treatment of trigger finger: a non-randomized prospective comparative study. Revista Española de Cirugía Ortopédica y Traumatología. 2026;70(4):339-347. PMID 42018398. (link)
  • Zhang L, Luo Y, Chen L, Zhang X, Chen J. Extracorporeal shockwaves therapy for finger stenosing tenosynovitis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Frontiers in Physiology. 2026;17:1714817. PMID 41727952. (link)
  • Chiang CH, Liu WC, Wu ZH, Wang JH, Shih CL. Evidence-based management strategies for adult trigger digits: a systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine. 2026;69(4):102074. PMID 41691955. (link)
  • Kuper G, Da Silva D, Carr M, Brown E. Comparative effectiveness of corticosteroid injections for trigger finger: a systematic review of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery. 2026;113:332-341. PMID 41352303. (link)

Frequently Asked Questions

Does shockwave therapy work for trigger finger?

Randomized and sham-controlled trials show improvement in pain and function in selected patients. A double-blind 60-patient trial found lower pain and QuickDASH disability than sham at six months with a higher-energy wide-focused protocol.

Is shockwave better than a steroid injection for trigger finger?

Not consistently. A 40-patient randomized trial found both treatments improved, with no significant difference in cure rate, pain or function. A non-randomized study found injection worked faster and radial ESWT lasted better at six months.

Does shockwave open or release the A1 pulley?

No. Clinical studies demonstrate improvements in pain, triggering and function, but they do not show that shockwave mechanically cuts or releases the A1 pulley.

Is radial or focused shockwave used for trigger finger?

Both technologies appear in the literature. The sham-controlled trial used wide-focused ESWT, a 2026 non-randomized study used radial ESWT, and two randomized trials did not name the device type in their abstracts. No study has compared them directly.

When is surgery a better choice than shockwave?

When triggering is persistent, severe, repeatedly locked, fixed or unresponsive to conservative treatment. A1 pulley release directly addresses the mechanical stenosis and remains an established treatment for refractory cases.

Next Step

Not sure what is causing your problem?

Articles explain the general picture. The exam looks at yours.

6059 S. Quebec St., Suite 203Centennial, CO 80111
Tue & Thu 12–5pmWed & Fri 6:30–11am

Exam-first care for muscle, tendon, fascia, and joint pain in the Denver Tech Center.

Call Book